Starting with why… in relationships

So let me clarify what I believe when it comes to intimate relationships.

I believe the most important, fulfilling, and satisfying thing in any human interaction is clear honest communication. And by communication I mean open, with no fear of judgment, 100% conscious presence and verbal, bodily, intellectual and emotional interaction.

I also believe that people come in varying degrees of self-awareness and therefore it is not realistic to expect to have the same degree of openness in communication with everyone.

So that’s exactly what I’m looking for. It’s pure freedom and sheer joy to be in the company of someone who communicates openly with you and expects the same from you. In this type of relationship, any problems that may crop up have a way to get resolved quickly and drama-free because both people are BOTH in touch with their deeper needs and wants and thoughts and desires AND 100% open in “revealing” those to or sharing those with the other person in a simple honest humble straight-forward way.

This type of relationship, to me, is bliss. And it is the only type of relationship to which I would subscribe 100%.

I believe that open communication in the lines described above is the best basis for a beautiful friendship with anyone. I also believe that different people are compatible with each other in varying degrees of compatibility. In the end, if the differences are irreconcilable between two people, they can explore their options in the spirit of the open clear honest humble communication I described above. I believe that one could lose a lover and gain a friend.

And I believe that underneath of it all, most people are looking for exactly the same thing; to be understood and listened to and be accepted for who they are. I believe that open communication is the only way for two people to reach this point of connection with each other.

I have met quite a few people (men and women) who have grown so disappointed in relationships that they stopped seeking this type of open clear honest communication and they started focusing on the satisfaction of a single need (for company, for sex, for financial stability, etc.). I believe that people are more than the sum of their needs. Or rather, that the biggest human need of all is to be accepted and seen as the person you really are. Open clear honest heartfelt straightforward communication will satisfy this basic human need and more.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

